School Logo

Birmingham Commonwealth Games


The Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games are held by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF). It is the third largest international sporting event after the Olympics. Just like the Olympics, a different country is selected to host the Games every four years and hundreds of athletes from all over the world attend to compete. The events of The Commonwealth Games are very similar to those of the Olympics, along with a few extra sports, such as lawn bowls and netball.


Birmingham 2022

The host city of The 2022 Commonwealth Games is Birmingham.

The Commonwealth Games will take place from 28th July - 8th August.

There are 72 competing nations.

The 2022 competition will feature the largest para sport programme in Commonwealth Games history.

The eight para sports are: athletics, wheelchair basketball, cycling, lawn bowls, para powerlifting, swimming, table tennis and triathlon.

New sports for 2022 include: women’s cricket T20, basketball 3x3, wheelchair basketball 3x3 and mixed synchronised diving.


The Commonwealth Games will be held in a number of different venues including:

Birmingham NEC
Edgbaston Cricket Ground
Sandwell Aquatics Centre
Birmingham University
The Commonwealth Games
The Commonwealth Games were known as the British Commonwealth Games until 1978, as it was held as an event to bring together all members of the British Empire. The three nations to have hosted the games the most times are Australia (five times), Canada (four times) and New Zealand (three times). Events of the games include triathlon, hockey, judo, cycling, athletics and table tennis.
Fun Facts
• Queen Elizabeth II is Queen of 14 of the 54 British Commonwealth member countries.
• Commonwealth Day is the annual celebration of the Commonwealth and happens on the second Monday of March.
• The British Commonwealth Games (as it used to be called) were first held in Hamilton, Canada in 1930.